Yoda Who?

Twice this past weekend, while in conversation with friends, I had been referred to as Yoda. The second time it happened, I asked “Who is Yoda?” That’s right. I didn’t really know who Yoda was, even though I had heard the character’s name referenced over the years. I knew he was from Star Wars or Star Trek or some movie like that. But I had never seen either of those movies, so I wasn’t sure.

Shocking isn’t it? Or that’s what a friend thought when I “fessed up” to never having seen Star Wars – none of them – not even the first one. The truth is, I’m not a science fiction fan. I love fantasy, and spend my life living a fantasy, or trying to, but sci fi is too much of a stretch for me, as far as having the ability to come true – and I’m a believer that fantasies can come true.

I followed a link that my friend forwarded which led me to all things Yoda and I was instantly hooked by his wisdom. The more I learned about Yoda, the more intrigued I became. I had found my soulmate, an ugly little troll like creature with a glowing green wand, but with the wisdom of the ages.

Some of my favorite Yoda-isms:

  • “Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.”
  • “So certain are you. Always with you it cannot be done. Hear you nothing that I say?”
  • “Train yourself to let go of everything you fear to lose.”
  • “You will find only what you bring in.”
  • “Always in motion is the future.”

I have been instructed to go “old school” over the holidays and watch the first three Star Wars films, which I will endeavor to do. So, forgive me all you “trekkies” (just kidding), but what do you call a Star Wars fan or in my case a Yoda fan?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

6 thoughts on “Yoda Who?

  1. Mark Green December 6, 2010 / 8:36 am

    I don’t think there is a moniker for that…. I even googled it and there was no real answer. I think “Star Wars Freak” is probably the closest, or more commonly, “Star Wars Nerd”.

    This blog posting made me smile.

  2. Jeroen December 6, 2010 / 11:19 am

    How about just being a ‘Star’ 😉

  3. Mark Green December 6, 2010 / 6:53 pm

    Oh, and it’s not a “wand”…. it’s a Light Saber, darling.

  4. Gerald December 12, 2010 / 6:35 am

    If I can suggest this one: Do or do not, there’s no try…
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

